Tis Pity He's a Writer

Richard Daybell – Novels, stories and short humor

Reefer Madness 2013

ReeferMadnessPosterThe Vermont House of Representatives has passed a bill decriminalizing small amounts of marijuana. To some this makes a lot of sense, allowing law enforcement to concentrate on more serious criminal activity and bringing punishment into line with other similar victimless offenses. To others this is the proverbial slippery slope, the beginning of a slide leading to legalization and eventually into utter moral depravity.

Bring on that slippery slope I say. Smoking pot will be my new vice.

I am of the age that back during my years of trying stuff out the stuff I tried out was alcohol. I was in the gin generation. I didn’t ever consider playing with marijuana. At that time, it was still considered Reefer Madness, the first step down the road to total Man with the Golden Arm addiction.

I wouldn’t even have known how to procure it if I was going to try it. Should I go hang around a school playground and wait for some seedy character to offer me some? Alcoholman was easy – you just siphoned a little at a time out of your parents’ liquor bottles until you had enough for a party. On several occasions, my parents would wake up in the morning with a bit of a hangover, amazed at the amount they seemed to have polished off the night before.

I did try marijuana a little later on. The first time was at a dinner party where our with-it hosts pulled out an elaborate water pipe for those who wished to indulge. I indulged, but having already consumed a fair amount of alcohol I couldn’t really divine the source of that rather pleasant buzz. On another occasion, neighbors in the apartment above us had found their son’s stash of pot and brought some down for us all to enjoy while we watched 42nd Street on television. As I recall, Ruby Keeler really kicked butt that night.

But that was then, this is now. And after a very long hiatus, I’m ready to puff those magic dragons. Of course times are different now. I’m not about to go to a rock concert and pass a smoke around to the fifty or sixty people standing nearby. I’ve become more refined now; I go to more refined places. During the intermission after the second act of La Traviata, I’m not about to suggest to my companion that we share a joint. I must be more dignified. “Shall we step outside and abuse a substance?”

And about this rolling your own. I’m a bit challenged on that score. Back a long time ago, when we thought it was cool to roll our own cigarettes, I usually ended up with tobacco all over my lips and a very unsatisfying smoke. I’d rather not go there again. Perhaps when smoking pot is not a criminal activity, they will manufacture nice little firm and round and fully packed marijuana cigarettes.

L.S.M.F.P.

11 comments on “Reefer Madness 2013

  1. Craig Dunford
    April 24, 2013

    My address is 2026 Ashton Circle, SLC.
    Though I am in your category. I was never sure if it was the whisky or the weed. It sure came in handy when our old pal R. Clark had terminal cancer.

    Like

  2. Craig Dunford
    April 24, 2013

    Let’s see how many know L.S.M.F.T.

    Like

    • Richard Daybell
      April 25, 2013

      My mother used to tell me it meant Lord Save Me From Truman.

      Like

    • Michael Sadowski
      April 28, 2013

      Lucky Strike Means Fine Tobacco??

      Like

  3. craigdunford
    April 24, 2013

    iPad

    Like

  4. Martin
    April 27, 2013

    Reblogged this on 4:20 Smokers Blog.

    Like

  5. elroyjones
    April 27, 2013

    You can get yourself a little rolling machine, not the small thing with the two rollers and a piece of poly between but an actual machine that has a little slot and a crank and a place to put tubes. You’ll love it.
    I can’t smoke pot, makes me paranoid or compulsively tidy, no happy medium.
    LSMFT, something about sleepy fingers according to urban dictionary.

    Like

    • Richard Daybell
      April 28, 2013

      But when you’re high you shouldn’t operate machinery. Paranoid and tidy is a scary combination.

      Like

Jump Right In

