Tis Pity He's a Writer

Richard Daybell – Novels, stories and short humor

Eat your Hearts Out II

A few folks have suggested that the garden photos I posted were not actually my garden.  Some even suggest that I have betrayed a sort of sacred trust that is the Hippocratic Oath of bloggers.  Some have cried journalistic malfeasance.  Picky, picky, picky.  I’m going to put these doubts to rest with my next set of photos — our topiary garden.  If you look very closely at each little tope, you’ll see a little Richard (not Little Richard) carved into each and every one of them.  Seeing is believing. 

Okay, I just had a Crime and Punishment moment.  Guilt, you rascal.  These photos are not actually my garden, although I did take the photos, which should mitigate something.  They’re actually Longwood Gardens in the Brandywine Valley an area that straddles the Delaware/Pennsylvania border.  We were there for four days this Spring which means I should get seven or eight posts out of this.  Next Professor Plum in the Conservatory with the knife.

11 comments on “Eat your Hearts Out II

  1. mimijk
    July 12, 2012

    And I was SO sure that my difficulty in seeing the Little Richards was a function of my failing eye sight…not! 🙂 The pictures are great though…and you’ll always be Big Richard in the eyes of your readers (even if you do have a thing about laying claim to gardens that aren’t your own)…

    Like

    • Richard Daybell
      July 12, 2012

      I’m sorry that I misled you and caused you to doubt your own eyesight and tried to make you believe in things that weren’t true and lied about gardens and probably other stuff too. I’m a bad, bad boy.

      Like

      • mimijk
        July 13, 2012

        I’d put in time out, but last I looked none of these qualify as punishable offenses..

        Like

  2. Craig Dunford
    July 12, 2012

    Apropos that they have all turned green.

    Like

  3. hebe in dc
    July 12, 2012

    Very jealous. Would love to go there. Great pics.

    Like

    • Richard Daybell
      July 12, 2012

      You can get there. It’s practically in your backyard. And thank you for the compliment. Oh, you said pics not pecs.

      Like

  4. Kenton Lewis
    July 12, 2012

    I am shattered and shocked, but I’ll get over it – in time.
    Okay, I’m over it.

    Like

    • Richard Daybell
      July 12, 2012

      I would have been upset about your consternation, but by the time I read about it, it was gone. Whew!

      Like

  5. Michael Sadowski
    July 18, 2012

    RIP OFF! You had me fooled! BTW, I’m originally from Delaware County…south west Philadelphia, to be precise…and I have visited Longwood Gardens many times. It’s a lovely place.

    Like

    • Richard Daybell
      July 18, 2012

      I’m sorry. I have been taken to task for the deception, and I’ll never never do it again.

      Like

Jump Right In

Information

This entry was posted on July 12, 2012 by in Going Places and tagged , , , , , , .
