Tis Pity He's a Writer

Richard Daybell – Novels, stories and short humor

Here’s to You, QE II

Queen of United Kingdom (as well as Canada, Au...

England celebrated the diamond jubilee of Queen Elizabeth ‘s coronation a few days ago.  She was crowned on February 6,1952, and was only 25. The celebration in 1952 was a major big deal not only in England but in Canada as well.  I know because I was there in (very young) person – during it though not for it.  (I was also in Canada when Princess Diana died. And I was in Canada when Al Gore won the 2000 election.  I voted before going; I also sent my vote to Florida, but I bet they didn’t count it.)

Our 1952 trip was a family cross-country thing – from Salt Lake City to New York and back with the aforementioned foray into Canada.  We visited Fort William in western Ontario where friends of my grandmother lived.  Don’t look for it on a map; it was tiny then and doesn’t exist today, having been sucked up along with a few other small towns into the city of Thunder Bay in the early 70s.

With all the hooplah back then, you’d have thought Fort William was in the heart of England.  For my part in the celebration, I had my first fish and chips and conned my parents into buying me a book about the kings and queens of England called This Royal Throne.  The book had short histories of every monarch from Alfred the Great forward – not including QE II, however.  Had they included her, the book would still be up-to-date today, although that doesn’t matter much, since I haven’t seen it in 40 years or more.

My favorite monarch was, of course, Richard – R I, the Lionhearted, not R II or R III the child killer (sort of like George HW but not George W or J).

It strikes me that QE II is the only English monarch an awful lot of Brits (and Canadians) have ever known.  Can you imagine having one president for sixty years (shudder, as you contemplate which one it might be).  Maybe monarchs should have term limits.

Do you suppose she ever wears a crown, just for the majesty of it?

9 comments on “Here’s to You, QE II

  1. givesgoodemail
    February 9, 2012

    People used to say that Victoria was the only monarch that two generations of Brits had known. If Elizabeth lasts to 2015, she will beat Victoria’s record.

    BTW, thanks for the “like” on my blog!

    Like

  2. elroyjones
    February 9, 2012

    The old girl looks pretty good!

    Like

    • Richard Daybell
      February 9, 2012

      She does, doesn’t she? Even with her hats and silly purses. She really should wear a crown and carry a scepter.

      Like

      • elroyjones
        February 9, 2012

        When I’m Queen that’s how I shall comport the Royal Self, in full regalia with voluminous purple velvet robes, not just a small crown either a BIG one encrusted with jewels and a scepter useful for thumping naysayers. I’ll invite you to the coronation.

        Like

        • Richard Daybell
          February 9, 2012

          There are an awful lot of naysayers that need thumping. Please invite me. My wife is still bitter about not receiving an invite to the recent royal wedding.

          Like

      • elroyjones
        February 9, 2012

        Your wife shall sit with me in the Royal Skybox!

        Like

  3. aka MD
    February 9, 2012

    Cute….childhood memories!

    Like

    • Richard Daybell
      February 9, 2012

      I have so few, MD. I knew I should have written them down at the time.

      Like

Jump Right In

You could be the one-millionthth follower of this blog and win fabulous prizes. Just enter your email address to follow.

Technology Is Running Amok

